Versione di lingua italiana
Deutsch Sprachenversion
English language version
Choose language:

» Economics » International economic organization » Topics begins with S » South African development community

Page modified: Tuesday, July 12, 2011 15:28:27

The South African development community (English: Southern African development Community, abbreviation SADC) is a regional organization for economic and political integration in the southern Africa. Their seat is Gaborone in Botswana.


It was created 1992 in Windhuk as a successor organization in July 1979 in Arusha (Tanzania) formed South African conference of development (SADCC).

First as counterweight of the front line states to the economic supremacy of South Africa in Apartheids times planned, it concerns during the reestablishment of 1992 a regional integration project of the states in the southern Africa. Already 1999 should be established a foreign trade zone. A customs union - gegegebenfalls including the customs union in the southern Africa (Southern African Customs union) - was originally planned for the first decade in the new millenium. A common currency is considered in the next twenty years. In view of the economic and political situation in the southern Africa at present various projects come not to desired success and/or retard temporally.

The European union and the USA co-operate in the meantime more closely with the SADC. While the European union aims at the conclusion of so-called partnership agreements with all participating states, the negotiations of the USA are not at present successful with the SADC and the Southern African Customs union.

Member states

In the development community at present 13 states are with altogether approximately 200 million Einwohneren united, these are:

  • Angola
  • Botswana
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Zambia
  • Simbabwe
  • Swaziland
  • Tanzania
  • Republic of South Africa
  • Mauritius

Madagascar holds at present an applicant status, which will lead presumably still in the year 2005 to a full membership. Likewise times the Seychelles, not successfully, had applied as member country.

Working languages are English, French and Portuguese


To their most important goals belong among other things:

  • to coordinate the social and economic policy of their members.
  • the economical to improve social and cultural relations in the region.
  • the abolishment of obstacles for the free traffic of capital and work, goods and services.
  • the promotion of the formation of human capital.
  • the promotion exchange of technology and knowledge in the region.

Articles in category "South African development community"

We found here 3 articles.


» South African development community
» South American community of states
» Southern Africa initiative of the German economy

Page cached: Monday, May 30, 2016 10:43:00
Valid XHTML 1.0!  Valid CSS!

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape